ASBL – International Board of Directors

François Bourguignon President LIS – Ex Officio

Executive Committee Members

Serge Allegrezza * Luxembourg STATEC [Central Statistical Service]
Olympia Bover Spain Central Bank of Spain
Peter Lanjouw Secretary General LIS – Ex Officio
Frank Cowell UK STICERD/LSE [London School of Economics]
Johan Fritzell Sweden Aging Research Center [ARC] Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm University
Janet Gornick United States The Graduate Center – City University of New York

Other Members

Carsten Schröder Germany SOEP/DIW [German Institute for Economic Research]
Reinhard Pollak Germany GESIS [Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences]
Aziz Naji Belgium Federal Science Policy Office
Veli-Matti Ritakallio Finland University of Turku
Andrea Brandolini * Italy Bank of Italy
Brian Kleiner * Switzerland FORS [Swiss Foundation for Research in Social Sciences]
Eric Schulte Nordholt Netherlands Statistics Netherlands

Notes* Member signifies that the Asbl member is the institution; the individual named serves as a representative of the member institution. In all other cases, the individual is the Asbl member. The LIS statutes allow either option.

Advisory Board

Country Representatives

Peter Saunders Australia University of New South Wales
David Zago Australia Australian Bureau of Statistics
Pirmin Fessler Austria Central Bank
Richard Heuberger Austria Statistics Austria
Koen Vleminckx Belgium Federal Public Service Social Security
Andrew Heisz Canada Statistics Canada
Li Shi China Beijing Normal University
Tána Dvornáková Czech Republic Statistical Office
Jirí Vecerník Czech Republic Institute of Sociology, Academy of Sciences
Frederik Hansen Denmark Ministry of Economic Affairs and the Interior
May Gadallah Egypt Economic Research Forum
Jani Erola Finland University of Turku
Muriel Roger France Progedo
Giorgos Ntouros Greece Hellenic Statistical Authority
István Toth Hungary TARKI Social Research Institute
Arndís Vilhjálmsdóttir Iceland Statistics Iceland
Sonalde Desai India National Council of Applied Economic Research (NCAER)
Gerard Reilly Ireland Central Statistics Office
Miri Endeweld Israel National Insurance Institute
Antonietta Di Salvatore Italy Bank of Italy
Colin McKenzie Japan Keio University
Irina Kompanijec Lithuania Statistics Lithuania
Thomas Mathä Luxembourg Central Bank of Luxembourg
Tom Emery Netherlands Open Data Infrastructure for Social Science and Economic Innovations (ODISSEI)
Alexandra Stéphanie Boyer Mexico National Institute of Statistics and Geography
Lotte Thorsen Norway Statistics Norway
Anibal Sánchez Aguilar Peru National Institute of Statistics and Informatics
Klara Sabirianova Peter Russia University of North Carolina (US)
Nataša Mijakovac Serbia Statistical Office
Rastislav Bednárik Slovakia Centre for Work and Family Studies
Andrej Cupak Slovakia Slovak Central Bank
Stanka Intihar Slovenia Statistical Office
Murray Leibbrandt South Africa University of Cape Town
Asaph Young Chun South Korea Statistics Research Institute | KOSTAT
Luis Ayala Spain National Distance Education University (UNED)
Johan Lindberg Sweden Statistics Sweden
Markus Schwyn Switzerland Federal Statistical Office
Chung Wen Kun Taiwan Directorate General of Budget, Accounting and Statistics
Andrew Banks UK Office of National Statistics
Melanie Hughes US National Science Foundation

Supra-National Organisation Representatives

Malgorzata Osiewicz ECB – Statistics Development and Coordination
Carlotta Balestra OECD – Centre for Well-Being, Inclusion, Sustainability and Equal Opportunity
Christoph Lakner World Bank – Development Economics Research Group
Elena Bardasi World Bank – Independent Evaluation Group

Past Presidents

2002 – 2011 : Robert Erikson, Swedish Institute for Social Research (SOFI)
2012 – 2016 : Tony Atkinson,  Oxford University

Local Advisory Board

Serge Allegrezza, President – Director – STATEC [Central Statistical Service]